Verdi Requiem 

Friday, March 30, 2012 at 7:30 pm
Goldstein Auditorium in the Schine Student Center
on the Syracuse University campus, Syracuse, NY

About This Concert

Verdi wrote Messa da Requiem (1874) in memory of the Italian poet Alessandro Manzoni, whom he admired greatly. This epic work draws upon the dramatic and expressive resources of a double choir, orchestra and four soloists to deliver a spiritual reading of the traditional Latin text of the Roman Catholic Mass for the Dead.
The five bass drum strokes that open the Dies Irae (Day of Wrath) attempt to strike fear of judgment into mortal hearts, while the combined orchestral and choral forces of the Call to Judgment result in some of the loudest, acoustic music ever conceived. In contrast, four vocal soloists offer transcendent melodies of hope, forgiveness and peace.
Verdi was not a religious man in any conventional sense and it is likely he didn't literally believe in the words of the ancient Mass for the Dead. However, he did manage to turn those words into musical drama so vivid and deep-felt in its examination of what it means to face death, that it can send shivers through even the most determined atheist.
Our performance features the Syracuse University Oratorio Society; Mihoko Kinoshita*, soprano; Sarah Heltzel*, mezzo-soprano; Jonathan Howell, tenor; and Marc Webster*, bass under the direction of guest conductor, Daniel Hege.

*These soloists also appear in the Syracuse Opera production of Madama Butterfly.

Ticket Information

Tickets are $20 General Admission, $10 for students with IDs.
Available from the Syracuse Opera Box Office (315) 476-7372

  • Parking will be available at no charge in the following locations:
    • Booth Garage
    • University Avenue Garage (UAG)
    • Waverly Lot
    • Marion Lot


Messa da Requiem by Guiseppe Verdi (1813-1901)

  • 1. Introit and Kyrie (chorus, soloists)
  • 2. Dies irae
    • Dies irae (chorus)
    • Tuba mirum (chorus, bass)
    • Liber scriptus (mezzo-soprano, chorus)
    • Quid sum miser (soprano, mezzo-soprano, tenor)
    • Rex tremendae (soloists, chorus)
    • Recordare (soprano, mezzo-soprano)
    • Ingemisco (tenor)
    • Confutatis (bass, chorus)
    • Lacrimosa (soloists, chorus)
  • 3. Offertory
    • Domine Jesu Christe (soloists)
  • 4. Sanctus (double chorus)
  • 5. Agnus Dei (soprano, mezzo-soprano, chorus)
  • 6. Lux aeterna (mezzo-soprano, tenor, bass)
  • 7. Libera me (soprano, chorus)

Guest Artists


Daniel Hege, Conductor

Daniel Hege is widely recognized as one of America’s finest young conductors, earning critical acclaim for his fresh interpretations of the standard repertoire and for his commitment to creative programming. He served for eleven seasons as the Music Director of the Syracuse Symphony and in June 2009, was appointed Music Director of the Wichita Symphony, beginning his tenure with that orchestra in September 2010.

Following a nationwide search, Mr. Hege was named Music Director of the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra in April, 1999. In June 2001, he completed a five year tenure with the Baltimore Symphony where he held the titles of Assistant, Associate and Resident Conductor and led the orchestra in subscription, family and run-out concerts. Mr. Hege has also served as Associate Conductor of the Kansas City Symphony, Assistant Conductor of the Pacific Symphony, Music Director of the Encore Chamber Orchestra in Chicago and Music Director of the Chicago Youth Symphony where he was twice honored by the American Symphony Orchestra League for innovative programming.

more »


Mihoko Kinoshita, soprano
Sarah Heltzel, mezzo-soprano
Jonathan Howell, tenor
Marc Webster, bass

Syracuse University Oratorio Society, John Warren, director